US Dept Of Homeland Security Banner  "Black Cat" Flotilla 3-13

"Boating Safety Classes"


The Missouri Mandatory Boater Education Law

Who must be Certified?

Beginning January 1, 2005, every person born after January 1, 1984, who operates a vessel on Missouri Lakes or Waterways shall possess, on the vessel, a safe boating identification card issued by the Missouri State Water Patrol (along with a valid photo ID).

Any person convicted of Boating While Intoxicated, Reckless or Negligent Operation, Failing to Stop on Signal of Water Patrol or Leaving Scene of a Vessel Accident, shall enroll in and successfully complete, at his or her expense, a boating safety education course, file with the court proof of successful completion of such course and submit a certified copy to the water patrol; and not operate a vessel until such filing.

 

The Illinois Mandatory Boater Education Law

Who must be Certified?

Beginning on January 1, 2016, no person born on or after January 1, 1998, unless exempted by subsection (i), shall operate a motorboat with over 10 horse power unless that person has a valid Boating Safety Certificate issued by the Department of Natural Resources or an entity or organization recognized and approved by the Department. Please check back at a later date for more details.

No person under 10 years of age may operate a motor boat.

Persons at least 10 years of age and less than 12 years of age may operate a motorboat only if:

1) they are accompanied on the motorboat and under the direct control of a parent or guardian, or

2) a person at least 18 years of age designated by a parent or guardian.

Persons at least 12 years of age and less than 18 years of age may operate a motorboat only if:

 1) they are accompanied on the motorboat and under the direct control of a parent or guardian or

2) a person at least 18 years of age designated by a parent or guardian or

3) such motorboat operator is in possession of a Boating Safety

Certificate issued by the Department of Natural Resources, Division of Education or a valid certificate issued by another

State, a province of the Dominion of Canada, the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary or the United States Power Squadron.

 

 

 

 

NOTE: remember, a Personal Watercraft is a Vessel

Click Here For a Direct Link to Frequently Asked Questions

Mo. & Illinois Boating Law

         

                                                                    Home